Meet our 2017 Islamic Economy Award winners


The judging criteria have been established by Thomson Reuters. The Thomson Reuters team is a specialist group that facilitates the clarity, transparency and accessibility of the Award to an audience of focused professionals, businesses and governments.

Judges panel:

A Panel of eleven Judges has been setup to adjudicate the award.

The judges evaluate all nominations based on the judging criteria.

No Thomson Reuters employee will be part of the judging panel.

Award Nominations:

Nominations for award categories are open to organizations and institutions (not individuals) active in any of the eight categories. Self-nominations are accepted for all eight categories and organizations and institutions are welcome to nominate their own members for the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’.

Award Scoring:

An initial shortlist of top three nominees per category will be determined based on the judges’ aggregate scores. The judges will then review these top three nominations per category and vote for the winner in each.

The organizing team will then provide the judges with detailed information of the shortlisted nominees (by soliciting additional details from the nominees) so that the judges may vote on the winner for each category.

‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ Nominations:

Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award are open to any individual who have played a strong role in any of the eight Award categories AND has had a career spanning at least 20 years.

Evaluation Criteria for all Award Categories

Nominees will be evaluated on the criteria below. Judges will be provided with a scorecard that details scoring guidelines for each of the criteria. They will score each nominee on each of the criteria on a scale from 0-10.


The nominee will have led the execution of a true innovation in their category (business process, customer experience, product, business model, or marketing) in one or more of the Islamic economy categories.

Key Considerations:
To demonstrate true innovation, the nominee will have delivered:

  • A completely new product or solution, or
  • A completely new business process, business-model, or marketing strategy, or
  • An update to an existing solution or a new application of existing solution, or
  • The implementation of outside innovation to a local or regional market
Social Impact:

The nominee’s work should demonstrate significant social impact. This could include job creation, bottom-of-pyramid business model, human development impact, stakeholder relations, etc. This criterion recognizes nominees for applying the underlying ethos of an Islamic economic system.

Key Considerations:
To demonstrate success in this category, the nominee will have delivered:

  • Social impact with an actual product or service offering, or
  • Social impact through charitable giving or philanthropy
Inspiring Stories:

Because the journey is often as important as the destination, the inspirational quality of the nominee’s story – their struggles, triumphs and even their failures – will be considered in the judging process.

Geographical Scope of Impact:

The nominee will have demonstrated impact in multiple geographies. This criterion acknowledges nominees for the reach of their work. The nominee should be able to demonstrate impact beyond the local level, either regionally or globally.

Economic Impact:

The nominee would have demonstrated the highest quantifiable impact in terms of either creating wealth for its shareholders and the industry or groups that it serves or has enhanced cross border trade in a significant manner.